Episode 4 — Neighbor Girl

Link To Download On iTunes

Some say The Truth will set you free, but I prefer Janis Joplin’s notion (not Truth, mind you) of Freedom; “Freedom’s just another word for nothing left to lose.” If there’s Truth, and I’m not certain there is or isn’t, then surely Janis’s notion of Freedom is part of that Truth.

Maybe there is only one Truth, and that one Truth is that there is no Truth. But if there is Truth, I will say this to you about it:

“You want The Truth? You can’t handle The Truth!”

Oh, lest I forget, I don’t know who Bobby McGhee is, but he sounds like yet another wanker in a sea of wanking wankers. Also, never trust anyone who refers to themselves as a Truth Seeker.

22 thoughts on “Episode 4 — Neighbor Girl

  1. “Laws as such do not make people better,” said Mulla Nasrudin to the King; “they must practice certain things, in order to become attuned to inner truth. This form of truth resembles apparent truth only slightly.”

    The King decided that he could, and would, make people observe the truth. He could make them practice truthfulness. His city was entered by a bridge. On this he built a gallows. The following day, when the gates were opened at dawn, the Captain of the Guard was stationed with a squad of troops to examine all who entered.

    An announcement was made: “Everyone will be questioned. If he tells the truth, he will be allowed to enter. If he lies, he will be hanged.”

    Nasrudin stepped forward.

    “Where are you going?”

    “I am on my way,” said Nasrudin slowly, “to be hanged.”

    “We don’t believe you!”

    “Very well, if I have told a lie, hang me!”

    “But if we hang you for lying, we will have made what you said come true!”

    “That’s right: now you know what truth is – YOUR truth!”

    • Neighbor girl’s voice whuz *seH-XaY* (I mean voice caller)!!! Lulz, and I loved the voice-masked interview (Hawkins should upgrade his 1983 commodore64 box-code). As to crime investigation – here’s one you should resolve:

      http://www.bringkyronhome.org/

      Don’t ask me how long it took for podcast audio to play on this distro (not pretty)…

  2. Apparently it’s not actually ‘Bobby McGee’ – KK was commissioned to write a song ‘about a girl called Bobbie McKee’ but he misheard it on the phone. True story.

    • Interesting. I didn’t know any of that. In fact, I wasn’t aware KK wrote the song. I researched it further prompted by your comment and come to find out, KK meant something very specifically about the line I quoted and it doesn’t match the meaning I had in mind, nor does it come across like the meaning he intended, at least Janis’s version doesn’t make it clear. Anyhow, here’s the link to his explanation of this song and a highlighted excerpt about freedom meaning nothing left to lose.

      http://performingsongwriter.com/kris-kristofferson-bobby-mcgee/

      “For some reason, I thought of La Strada, this Fellini film, and a scene where Anthony Quinn is going around on this motorcycle and Giulietta Masina is the feeble-minded girl with him, playing the trombone. He got to the point where he couldn’t put up with her anymore and left her by the side of the road while she was sleeping. Later in the film, he sees this woman hanging out the wash and singing the melody that the girl used to play on the trombone. He asks, ‘Where did you hear that song?’ And she tells him it was this little girl who had showed up in town and nobody knew where she was from, and later she died. That night, Quinn goes to a bar and gets in a fight. He’s drunk and ends up howling at the stars on the beach. To me, that was the feeling at the end of ‘Bobby McGee.’ The two-edged sword that freedom is. He was free when he left the girl, but it destroyed him. That’s where the line ‘Freedom’s just another name for nothing left to lose’ came from.

  3. hi Hole, can you unblock me on twitter please. @timnpip Many thanks. Great podcast by the way. Lots of laughs this episode.

    • Maybe. If you refer to me more respectfully, or if you don’t mind me referring to you as “fuck face knob job” instead of Tim.

      Hole is not suitable and someone who renders that from my pen name fits the profile of a sadistic rapist who sees only the word “hole” from the absurd fabricated name Cold N. Holefield.

      Explain why “hole” out of that name versus Cold or “field” or any other number of permutations. Especially since I’ve encountered a cretin (a cretin who should be smashed like one would smash a cockroach) who has referred to me as “hole” at other venues.

  4. There is plenty of *TRUTH* – unfortunately, it’s not the stuff that makes you *happy*. You’re pretty short-winded – what’s up? I expect pages of discourse from *U*.

      • OK now you’ve got me quoting Bertrand Russell, “Is there any knowledge in the world which is so certain that no reasonable man could doubt it?” COME ON MAN. That sentence was the beginning of 200 pages of philosophical discourse…

        PS – Dead Poet’s Society – haven’t seen that since the first time…

      • Ack, no edit/delete options!!! I get it now, the podcast (I think I watched the video/audio on U-tub?). Hmm, do I install some Apple app that is going to sniff every device I ever connect to this box, and log everything remotely if an Apple pod/pad/phone (hmm PPP) device “logs in” – that’s *IF* the app even works under Linux…

Comments are closed.