When You Wish Upon A Star

Louis, I’m sorry, but you’re wrong — apparently some wishes are too extreme. Adnan Syed’s wish discussed below is too extreme, apparently, and so it’s ignored by those who don’t know any better but should and by those who do know better. Let me explain, Louis.

In my latest podcast here titled Episode 2 — Judge Judy, I discuss many things, but one pertinent thing I discuss is Adnan’s observations, and his opinion and wish concerning an individual’s determination of his guilt or innocence. He’s not ambiguous. He articulates quite clearly, explicitly and emphatically how he feels about it and what he thinks about it. At the link to the podcast I provided above tune to 29:30 and listen closely. Adnan tells Sarah, “yeah…oh…well, you don’t really even know me though, Tony…..maybe you do…we only talk on the phone..I don’t understand what you mean….I mean, it’s just weird to hear you say that because I don’t really know you. I mean, for you to say I’m a great person…I mean like a nice person, you know…I mean…I don’t know, I like only talked to you on the phone a few times….”

I’m not sure who Tony is and why Adnan referred to Sarah as Tony. Was he confused or was he joking? I don’t know, but I had a mental WTF moment when he said it (Sarah laughed nervously but didn’t say anything about it), but it’s neither here nor there concerning the point I’m about to make LOUD and CLEAR — once again. [Editorially, I don’t  like to expunge mistakes, so I keep them and insert the correction. See comments below this blog post. Jon Denver graciously and correctly informs that Adnan says “Koenig” and not “Tony.” What can I say, I’m getting old and my hearing’s going. I lied. But at least I lied well and for all the right reasons ;-)…..] For all of you out there who have jumped on the #FreeAdnan bandwagon and believe Adnan didn’t kill Hae because you feel you know him (like Sarah) and as such you feel he’s a nice guy who couldn’t do something like this, as Adnan told Sarah in the above quote from Serial Podcast, and by virtue of telling Sarah he’s telling you since Sarah is your surrogate, you don’t know him. You will never know him, so you can’t judge his guilt or innocence based on your feeling he’s a good guy or a bad guy. And yet, people still do as is witnessed by a tweet exchange I had on Twitter. Here’s the comment that precipitated the exchange.

I’m a firm believer in meaning what you say and saying what you mean, and that involves focused thought and fastidious articulation. Otherwise, you’re going to be misunderstood. I hold myself to that standard and everyone else to that standard as well, realizing that many, including myself on occasion, fall short of that standard — some more woefully than others.

The tweet above authored by @mizzcreamz, as articulated, implies the author knows Adnan and therefore feels confident, because Adnan is obviously a nice guy, that Adnan wouldn’t hurt Hae. She doesn’t know Adnan, therefore her assertion is purely subjective conjecture. And any Justice System that weighs heavily such unfounded subjective conjecture and determines guilt or innocence based on an inherently partial character assessment, is no Justice System at all. Any worthy Justice System would have numerous safeguards built-in to protect the process and verdicts from such irresponsible and subjective determinations.

Stoning-Bible

And if Team Adnan’s Innocent counts people who fit this profile among its ranks and those numbers are significant in any way, that’s a House of Cards and it’s certainly not the kind of support Adnan would solicit for himself. Here’s Adnan’s Wish Upon A Star as far as all of this is concerned. I think what he has to say about this matter is pretty important, don’t you? Apparently, some couldn’t care less what Adnan has to say about it and they’ll think how they damn well want to think and think whatever they damn well want to think because that’s Freedom, baby — don’t you know!! Per the podcast link above, tune to the 30:33 mark (I implore all those who haven’t listened to the podcast to listen in its entirety, but for now I’m just underscoring the salient parts for making this point LOUD & CLEAR) for Adnan’s admonition.

Adnan to Sarah: To be honest with you, I kind of….I feel like I want to shoot myself if I hear someone else say, “I don’t think you did it because you’re a nice guy.” So I guess kinda, you know, you wouldn’t know that but I’ve heard people say that to me over the years and it just drives me crazy. I would love someone to hear, I would love to hear someone say, “I don’t think that you did it because I looked at the case and it looks kinda flimsy.” I would rather someone say, “Adnan, I think you’re a jerk, you’re selfish….you know, you’re a crazy sob…and you should just stay in there for the rest of your life except I looked at your case and it looks a little off…you know..like something’s not right.”

I hear ya and feel ya, Adnan. It drives me crazy too, but I’m telling you brother, when I underscore it out here in our precious, pretentious world that awaits you with bated breath it doesn’t go over too well. Shoot the messenger and all that jazz. And they’ll shoot you too Adnan once you’re out and about and they get the chance, metaphorically of course, because whatever draws such people who think this way to your case, it’s not about you and Justice for them. It’s about belonging — to anything. It’s about the crowd. It’s about the Hive Mind. It’s most definitely not about creative and critical thought. So much for Social Media. Just one further abstraction that incarcerates and incapacitates clear, clarifying critical thought and analysis.

In @mizzcreamz’s defense, she did later clarify her statement somewhat, but not entirely, and then she later contradicted her clarification which puts her back at zero/go and my point still stands as relevant and applicable — to her and anyone else who has joined Team Adnan’s Innocent for all the wrong reasons. The admonition of this blog is to lie well, and for all the right reasons. The thinking (or lack thereof) I’ve described and outlined in this post is an example of lying poorly and for all the wrong reasons, and that’s exactly what Urick, Murphy, Ritz and MacGillivary want and what they did in framing Adnan — they lied poorly and for all the wrong reasons.

Rabia Chaudry jumped into the fray in support of @mizzcreamz with the following tweet.

I want to make it clear that it’s understandable for Rabia to think and feel this way about Adnan because she’s always been very close to him and his family. Her brother Saad was/is Adnan’s best friend, so it’s also understandable for Saad to feel and think this way. I don’t and wouldn’t begrudge any of them those thoughts and feelings. I would do the same myself if I were in their shoes. But that doesn’t extend beyond Adnan’s ring of very close friends and family. They need to think and feel this to offer him the emotional support he needs, but for the rest of us, who aren’t close to Adnan and never will be, such thinking doesn’t suffice in our pursuit of Justice for both Adnan and Hae. We have to remain objective and evidence-based, and thankfully Undisclosed Podcast, unlike Serial Podcast, has done just that — and religiously and expertly so in my opinion.

Let me clarify this with yet another example. Ted Bundy was probably one of the most charming and sociable psychopathic serial murderers ever to be caught and convicted. People in his close circle spoke glowingly of his character, and in fact, when he was finally convicted, they couldn’t believe they were so wrong about him. They never really knew the real Ted, and if we all were to rely on such faulty thinking/feeling in pursuit of Justice, we’d have guilty people getting off scot-free, and innocent people rounded up by unruly mobs, pitchforks and torches in hand, and burned at the stake. If Justice becomes a popularity contest, watch out. It once was (Justice) a popularity contest, not too long ago, and if you weren’t well liked and you were suspected of a crime or murder that you didn’t commit, it wouldn’t matter that you were innocent. People (the mob) would convict you and execute you because they thought/felt you were evil. I hope we never return to those times (the Salem Witch Trials come to mind as one prominent example out of so many), but if bandwagon thinking like I’ve described in this post takes hold and flourishes with the aid of thought-incapacitating Social Media, God (if there is one and even if there isn’t) help us all. We will have those halcyon days again where we burn society’s rejects du jour at the stake for any and all crimes as sacrificial lambs whilst the real culprits grin behind teeth clenched in a faux show of fiery opprobrium.

2164405-bundy

This individual was militant with me from the start, calling me all manner of names and insults. She was completely uncivil and acted beyond reproach. She’s blocked me now on Twitter, which isn’t surprising. A closed mind cordons itself off from disconfirming information and surrounds itself with cozy but betraying purposeful ignorance. It’s tough to crack open an obstinately closed mind that seeks refuge and authority in The Genius of the Crowd. Here was her final tweet to me proving she backtracked on her earlier clarification and is now back at zero or on go — basing innocence on a partial, subjective character assessment via proxy, evidence be damned.

Just so you know, I didn’t attack this individual. I was blunt, but with a 140 character limit, it’s tough not to be and still say something poignant and of substance. She was being trolled by @MyOwnBestTruth and I caught it on a feed of someone I follow who favorited her tweet. It sparked my curiosity, especially since my latest podcast touches on this. Here are my two tweets to her before she poked me in the chest. They’re benign, supportive and redirecting. To her, it was a threat. If you feel that’s threatening, perhaps you should stay off Social Media. It’s the public square where everyone, including you, has a soapbox.

Rabia was included in my reply only because she was initially addressed by this individual so it was a courtesy to keep her in the loop. Lombard is @MyOwnBestTruth and, ironically, it is this troll who suggested @mizzcreamz didn’t know Adnan per this tweet — the implication being that if she did, she would realize Adnan is guilty. See how that can rub both ways when you get into partial and subjective character assessment versus the evidence? Evidence rules.

And then, of course, he leads her right where he wants her, and that is her implying she does know Adnan (he wouldn’t kill Hae)  even if it is by proxy via Rabia. Lombard wins and maneuvers her onto the feel versus the evidence. It may be a troll, but it’s a strategic troll. If you follow my advice laid out in this post, you eviscerate @MyOwnBestTruth and its ilk. I know this from years of research and experience. Or, you can tell me to go fuck myself and carry on as usual because it’s a free world and you can think what you want. I’m not telling you what to think. I’m telling you to think. There’s a  difference. Think what you like, or pretend to think what you like, or let others do your thinking for you and call it your own thoughts. If that’s freedom, have at it. Plenty of people do. For example, a not insignificant percentage of people in this here great country of ours believe humans walked with the dinosaurs. They’re free to think that. I don’t think they should be given a driver’s license, operate heavy machinery or have access to alcohol and firearms per that thinking, but they’re free to think it just as you’re free to think what others are thinking and ignore me as you have and are. Afterall, I’m nobody — and damn proud of that designation, I might add. Good night and good luck. Over and out. Arrivederci. Peace be with you. Ciao Amigos(as). Until tomorrow. Enough already.

5 thoughts on “When You Wish Upon A Star

  1. In the audio from Serial you talk about above, I believe Adnan is saying “Koenig”, not “Tony”. He is addressing Sarah by her last name. Or at least that’s how I heard it. It is hard to make out and threw me for a loop also. If you have a chance, listen again and let me know what you think.

    • Jon (love your music by the way — especially Rocky Mountain High), you are absolutely correct. He did say “Koenig.” Duh, Cold. I should have been able to determine that from context. That was as bad as LE meaning lower eight. In the words of that infamous philosopher Jenn Pusateri, it “shows you what I know.”

      Still, it is funny to hear him refer to her by her last name. It implies their relationship isn’t entirely formal and she’s more than an acquaintance but certainly not a trusted friend. There’s a certain level of familiar intimacy when you refer to someone by their last name playfully and affectionately.

      I wonder if Koenig took to heart what Adnan said about knowing people. He’s a Philosopher King holding a grasshopper in the palm of his hand, but I’m guessing she didn’t see it (the grasshopper or the hand) so there’s no chance of her grabbing that which she can’t even see. I’m betting Sarah has returned to her superficial life and is firmly convinced, as she always has been and always will be, that she knows the people she knows. Same as it ever was — same as it ever was.

    • Truth be told, but never is, I’m as much a Timex watch as I am an archer. Like a Timex watch, I take a licking, and keep on ticking.

      Julian Koenig, 93, Legendary Ad Man

      April 22, 1921 – June 12, 2014
      By Star Staff | June 26, 2014 – 10:13am

      He was a legend among ad men for the “Think Small” and “Lemon” campaigns that introduced the Volkswagen Beetle to this country; for having chosen Earth Day as the title of what was to become an annual celebration of the environment, and for the Timex slogan “It takes a licking and keeps on ticking,” which became a pop-culture catchphrase.

      ……

      Sarah Koenig, his youngest daughter, said her father was addicted to horse racing from the time he was a young man. He gave up advertising for a time in the late 1950s and early ’60s, she said, because he had become successful as a handicapper. She recalled that he would take her and her sister, Antonia, to places like McDonald’s in Southampton, which would ordinarily have been out of the question had it not been close to an Off Track Betting site. Asked if he made a killing at the track, she said, he would dryly reply, “I break even.”

Comments are closed.